1&1, A Mistake?

I chose 1&1 because the Lifehacker.com readers voted it to be one of the best personal webhosts.  I wanted to get away from the old server due to shady business practices they followed.  Not to mention, speed.

However, it’s starting to seem like choosing 1&1 was a mistake for a couple of reasons.
1.) Totally strange admin panel.  Everything like managing MySQL databases seem awkward and is laid up in a 1&1 custom view.
2.) Installing new scripts (websites).  I’ve been trying to install Joomla for a couple of days now, but get hit by an “Error 403, Restricted access” error each, and every single time! Ugh!
3.) It doesn’t feel like the new server is any faster then the previous host.

So all in all, I can’t say I’m too happy with it all.  I’ve asked for support from 1&1, let’s see how that goes before we do anything drastic.  Maybe it’s a simple problem with a simple solution.

I’ll make sure to keep everyone updated!

2 Responses to 1&1, A Mistake?

  1. gunn parker says:

    If you need a good host take a look at parcom.net.
    I have been using them for years,

    • thedsr says:

      Thanks for the info GP, but we’ve already got a years worth of hosting on 1&1. 🙂 However, I’ll gladly look into it next year.

Leave a Reply

